A proposed nine additional criteria have been drafted for the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.2. The first public working draft was released on August 11, 2020 and feedback from the public is being accepted until September 18, 2020.

The W3C Working Group has completed the process of adding new success criteria and is publishing this version for wide review of the changes since WCAG 2.1, before finalization of WCAG 2.2.

Note: In WCAG 2.2, success criteria 2.4.7 Focus Visible is changed from Level AA to Level A.

Will Siteimprove check for WCAG 2.2?

Yes, in the future. In conjunction with the W3C as part of the WAI-Tools project we are currently delivering new accessibility checks at WCAG 2.1 with our WCAG compliance checker and will review the success criteria at 2.2 to determine which checks can be automated in the platform once it is finalized.

What are the proposed changes?

The nine proposed new criteria are:

Guideline 2.4 Navigable

Guideline 2.5 Input Modalities

Guideline 3.2 Predictable

Guideline 3.3 Input Assistance

The details for the proposed success criteria can be found on the W3C Web Content Guidelines (WCAG 2.2) page.

The Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) at the W3C is also creating some examples and personas to help understand the purpose of the new criteria. As soon as it is published, we will link to it here.